Auburn CFS celebrates 80 years

With 13 current members, Auburn CFS has celebrated its 80th birthday still strong with volunteers.

The brigade, part of the Gilbert Group, was established in 1939 and covers a wide region.

Member for Frome MP Geoff Brock attended the celebration at Auburn's station, thanking to volunteers for their continued efforts.

He also assisted with unveiling an honour board, with CFS Chief Officer Greg Nettleton.

Current members include: Jeff Seymour, Ian Matner, Neville Attenborough (deputy group officer), Beki Hutchinson, Shane Whitelaw, Shandel Schmidt, Jamie Whiteman, Ray Hutchinson, Jerome Ziersch, George Sugars, Bob Trezise, Sharna Juett, Tony Hean.

Auburn CFS brigade trains weekly on Tuesday at 7pm.

For more information or to become a member email:

All are welcome.