The season that was.

Today we take a look back at the season that was in the North Eastern Football League.

Brinkworth-Spalding-Redhill went back to back in 2018 after defeating Blyth-Snowtown in the Grand Final at Clare Oval.

The Tigers triumphed 8.10-58 to 4.7-31 in a tense affair to secure their second premiership in as many years.

It turned out to be a successful day all around for BSR as the B Grade also brought home the premiership to Tigerland.

Locking horns with Burra-Booborowie-Hallet, the Tigers got up at the final whistle 11.9-75 to 4.3-27.

Southern Saints defeated R.S.M.U in the Under 17s, while North Clare downed Mintaro-Manoora in emphatic fashion in the Under 14s.

The Mail Medal this year went to Blyth-Snowtown stalwart and fearless leader Gareth Ottens with 23 votes.

Ottens went one better this year after finishing runner-up in the count in 2017 to R.S.M.U’s Patrick Clark.

He was two votes ahead of RSMU ruckman Justin Schahinger, who collected 21 votes, with Min-Man midfielder Steve Rusca, third on 19.

Ottens was also named at half back in Northern Argus Team of the Year for the 2018 season.

Teammate Nathan Zweck was named alongside him, as well as R.S.M.U veteran James Vandeleur, B.S.R’s Adam Mackenzie, Southern Saint’s Zac Green and South Clare Demon Matthew Allen.

Through the middle was Tom Stevens of North Clare, Cat Ryan Darling and Mitch Sandery of R.S.M.U.

A trio of Tigers were named across the half forward line in Alex Morgan, Lachlan Wilsdon, and Jack Haarsma.

Hawk’s duo Craig Mullins and Damian Hynes were joined in the forward line by Dallas Hill of North Clare.

Schahinger and Rusca were named in the ruck alongside the impressive Caleb Lloyd in his return to Blyth-Snowtown.

Tom Drew (BBH), Sam Martin (BSR), Will Hennessey (BSR) and Nick Rowe (NC) made up the interchange.