Back-to-back for Boh

Burra Eagles wicket keeper batsman Boh Wall had made it back-to-back Russell Fiebig Memorial awards as the champion cricketer of the Northern Areas competition in 2017-18.

He won the award with 187.7 points, just on 30 points ahead of Damien Smith, the Booleroo-Willowie all-rounder with his team- mate Jason Schuppan in third place with 123.9 points.

During the minor round Wall made 927 runs at an average of 154.5 from 13 trips to the batting crease which included not outs, along with two centuries and a further seven 50s and a high score of 161 not out against Bundaleer in round 13.

This followed a brilliant 151 not out against Belalie-Mannanarie the week before.

Wall said he felt he had been a fraction more consistent than last season.

“I pride myself on performing against the best and felt I could have done more against the top two sides, Pekina-Carrieton and Willington-Melrose,” he said.

“I’d happily hand it all back if I was playing in the grand final last Saturday.”

In each of the past seven seasons wall has produced a minimum of 500 runs per summer.

The 2018-18 season effort of 965 runs including finals his highest seasons total across that epoch.

If you include Wall’s efforts at the batting crease, when captain of NACA representative side, which won its first title this summer, for the second season running, he has passed the magical 1000-run mark.  

As expected Wall also won the NACA batting trophy for the 2017/18 season

In second place was Wilmington-Melrose cricketer Ryan Slee with 650 runs an average of 54.17, while Damian Smith from Booleroo-Willowie produced 628 runs at an average of 78.5 , In fourth place was Eagle Jason Schuppan with 569 runs, while Brodie O’Dea rounded out the top five with 564 runs in the minor round at 78, along with SA Outbacks duties.

The bowling trophy was collected by Spalding-Booborowie spinner Cameron Longbottom with 32 wickets an outstanding average of 10.53.

Both Burra Eagles quick Geoff “Digger” Thompson and Orroroo’s Jon Richardson-Neate collected 22 wickets each.

Thompson average was a miserly 12.45 per scalp, while Richardson- Neate took his wickets and 17.73 runs per victim.

Bel-Man all-rounder Sam Young was fourth overall with 21 wickets while Zac Hutchinson took 20 wickets for Pekina-Carrieton across the minor round.

The NACA young cricketer of the year was won by Bundaleer’s Ryan Clark, with Declan McCallum the runner up.

Russell Fiebig Memorial Award winners (NACA era)

  • 2010-11 – Jason Schuppan (Burra) (voting system)
  • 2011-12 – Ryan Simpson (Belalie-Mannanarie)
  • 2012-13 – Boh Wall (Burra)
  • 2014-14 – Clayton Pycroff (Bundaleer)
  • 2014-15 – Brodie O’Dea (Pekina-Carrieton)
  • 2015-16 – Ryan Simpson (Belalie-Mannanarie)
  • 2016-17 – Boh Wall (Burra)
  • 2017-18 – Boh Wall (Burra)  

2017-18 Russell Fiebig Memorial votes

Position, Player, Club, Points   

  • 1st                    Boh Wall           Burra CC 187.70
  • 2nd                   Damien Smith Booleroo/Willowie CC    157.80
  • 3rd                   Jason Schuppan      Burra CC  123.90
  • 4th                   Sam Young Belalie Mannanarie CC     123.30
  • 5th                   Brodie O’Dea Pekina/Carrieton CC         118.60