Community football accolades


Last Saturday at South Adelaide, the Community Football Board 2017 Awards Lunch was held. 

Coaching legend Kevin Sheedy was the guest of honour at the event.

Lou Boughen from the Mallee Football League was honoured with Administrator of the Year while the AFL Merit Award went to Brad Busch from the neighbouring Adelaide Plains Football League, nominated by local Central Zone director Graeme Wandel.

Among his accolades he was league president for 11 years and made a life member in 2015, as well as being on the initial organising committee for the Landmark Cup and his successful fundraising and support after the Pinery bushfires.

Graham Moulds was among the five merit award recipients.

He played 300 senior games with Ashton and Hummocks United football clubs, was the APFL secretary/treasurer for six seasons and a club umpire for 20 years, along with being a time keeper for 30 winters.


Southern Flinders, NAFA and Northern Zone footballer at the SA Country Championships, Tai Martin-Page is currently playing in the Northern Territory Football League competition for the Darwin Buffaloes.

Over the first seven rounds Martin-Page has enjoyed four victories as the Buffaloes endeavour to play finals football for the first time in a number of years.

“We’re coached by former North Adelaide footballer Matt Campbell; he speaks well and doesn’t mind getting into us when he needs to and he gets the best out of the boys.

“Playing in Darwin during the wet season is pretty tough and the humidity is pretty full on; by the start of the game you’re already soaked in sweat but it helps build up your fitness.

“The original plan was to head back to the NAFA after the finals up here but we will see how it progresses.”

There’s a fair cross section of talents including AFL footballers playing in the competition.

Martin Page has been used in both key forward rolls and as an athletic ruckman.

He had originally spoken to both St Mary’s and the Waratah football clubs but after a chat with North Adelaide football manager Darryl Wintle he was connected with Campbell and this is how his commitment to the Buffaloes eventuated.

The Buffaloes are currently in fourth spot, one game ahead of usual competition powerhouse St. Marys and the Tiwi Bombers.


In the first of the “double headers” at Titanium Security Arena last Saturday, November 18, the Adelaide Lightning endured one of their biggest defeats for the season going down to coach Chris Lucas’ former team Townsville Fire by a large 23-point margin, 78 to 101.

Six Townsville Fire players hit double-figures while returning local lass from the Mid North town of Booleroo Centre Abby Bishop finished with 24 points and 13 boards for Adelaide Lightning as they endured a second heavy defeat to the Fire in a fortnight.

Across the 11 games so far this season Bishop has delivered five “double-double” performances.

Her average of 17.09 points per game is above her career average of 15.85, a second best behind her performance when she won the competition’s MVP award for the 2014-15 campaign.

Her average of 8.91 rebounds a game is just in front of her career average of 8.89.

When dual Olympic silver medallist and WNBL Hall of Famer Rachael Sporn was asked if Bishop was the “new Sporn of the Lightning”, the ever gracious Sporn suggested that Bishop had a more rounded basketball game than herself, having the ability to shoot from the perimeter and had more tricks than she had.


At the recent SA Outbacks T20 trials held against Adelaide University Blacks, Pekina’s Brodie O’Dea continued to display his talents.

Opening the batting in one game he made a cavalier 21 from just 13 balls faced in just 24 minutes.

With Mallala cricketer Jake Birchmore they put on 51 for the second wicket in six overs.

In the afternoon fixture that the SA Outbacks won by four runs at Park 10, O’Dea was junior partner in a 59-run innings resurrecting six wicket stand with Ben Parish, when he made a-run-a-ball 16.

The SA Outbacks side for the 2018 tournament in Geraldton, WA, will be announced on December 1.