Simpson plays superb

Belalie Mannanarie v Booleroo-Willowie

Belalie Mannanarie champion Ryan Simpson delivered a blitz-krieg at Victoria Park, at Jamestown, in the clash with Booleroo-Willowie in round one.

Simpson opened the batting with skipper Shannon Jaeschke and the pair produced a 164-run opening partnership before Jaeschke was dismissed for  51.

At that point Simpson was on 76 from 98 balls faced including six boundaries and a trio of sixes.

Amazingly his final 122 runs came off just 48 balls with seven fours and 11 sixes in that final burst of power hitting.

Simpson was dismissed on 198 having face 246 deliveries hitting 14 sixes and 13 fours.

In total 134 of Simpson’s runs came from boundaries as Bel-Man finished with an impressive total of 4/279 from 40 overs, with Sam Young remaining not out on 22.

Booleroo-Willowie’s successful bowlers included Joe Arthur with one wicket at a cost of 43 from six overs.

Tyson Woolford with 1/29 from six overs was the pick of their trundlers, while Kodi Carey’s three overs were expensive, costing 44 runs he did take a wicket.

In reply Booleroo-Willowie could only make 69 being dismissed in the 29th over.

All-rounder Young finished with four wickets for a cost of six runs of his four over spell, while Shannon Fielding was equally frugal, collecting 3/5 from 3.4 overs.

Casey French claimed 2/17 from seven overs including a maiden opening the bowling.

Only Captain Matt Hamish (10) at the top of the order number three Damian Smith (17) and Craig Roberts with 19 got two double figures in a 210-run loss.

Burra v Orroroo

The Burra Eagles hosted Orroroo on home turf and bowled the visitors out for 104 in 28.3 overs.

The Eagles wickets were evenly distributed with quick Tom Weich (2/21), Matt Opperman (2/17) and Ben Hook (2/3) each taking two scalps.

Opener Geoff  Thompson, veteran all-rounder Jason Schuppan and Tom Hill each secured a victim as well.

Raed Hannun, batting at number six, was the Roo’s top scorer with a typical wristy 35 which included a trio of boundaries.

The only other Orroroo bat to get to double figures was Corey Finlay who made 12.

Jason Schuppan and Bohdan Wall made quick work of the run chase as the Eagles lost just one wicket compiling the required runs and taking just 17 overs to claim their first victory.

Schuppan was the first dismissed for 28 in the seven overs having already dispatched three boundaries

Wall produced an undefeated 56 including for boundaries and a pair of sixes at later in the innings while Matt Opperman remain undefeated on 14.

Finlay was the only successful bowler collecting one wicket at a cost of 25 runs from his six overs.

Pekina-Carrieton v Bundaleer

Reigning premiers Pekina-Carrieton had a comfortable 91-run win at home against Bundaleer in round one.

Batting first after losing Mack Bowman early, older sibling Lachlan Bowman and Kieran Blackwell each produced half centuries and a 98-run second wickets stand, which set up the competitive total of 5/204 from 40 overs.

The more aggressive Lochie Bowman was the first to be dismissed being caught by McCarthy off the pick of the Bundaleer bowlers, Jack Walkington, while Blackwell - captaining the side - was more circumspect being dismissed for a careful 56.

Young Will Bowman remained undefeated on 37 batting at the end of the innings.

Walkington was the chief wicket taker for Bundaleer finishing with 3/48 from seven overs, while the other wicket was taken Ryan Clark, who bowled nine overs and claimed 1/42, although he did bowl 13 wides.

During the run chase Bundaleer were it all sorts of trouble. Initially reeling at 3/11 and then 5/21, they then fell to 7/56 as Daniel Clark gave the innings some stability and made an unbeaten 52.

Second highest scorer was sundries with 11 while Ryan Clark was next in line with nine.

Bundaleer was dismissed in the 28th over with Blackwell and Matt Bowman each taking three wickets at a cost of 11 runs from five and six overs respectively.

Mitchell Fromm collected 2/12 from his three overs. Both Charlie Luckraft 1/17 from four overs and Will Bowman 1/39 also from four overs were among the wicket takers as well.

Spalding-Booborowie v Wilmington-Melrose

Last season’s grand finalist, Spalding-Booborowie, started its campaign with a solid 30-run win over Wilmington-Melrose.

At Spalding Oval the hosts batted first and compiled 173, batting 38.4 overs.

Openers Alex Morgan and Angus Ashby got the hosts off to a strong start putting on 76 for the first weekend but both fell within eight runs of each other.

Morgan’s 30 included three boundaries as Ashby was dismissed for 43.

Lachie Wilsden, batting in the third position, made a patient 41 and Nick Longmire in the middle order made a nearly a run-a- ball 35, including a couple of sixes.

The star with the ball was second change bowler Andrew Milne who picked up the excellent figures at 6/15, easily the best figures for the round, from eight overs including three maidens.

Ryan Slee, bowling fourth, finished with 2/36 from 6.4 overs while Shannon Jones and Cody Scutcheon each claimed a scalp.

In reply, Wilmington Melrose was looking good at 1/73 before Slee was dismissed for 56 from 64 balls, including seven boundaries.

Keeper-batsman Michael Skull was the next best, dismissed for 36 and Milne added to his bowling effort by making a quick fire 20 from 21 deliveries, but that batting effort fell away and they finished on 9/143.

Spinner Cameron Longbottom was the pick of the Spalding-Booborowie bowlers with for 4/32 from nine overs while his brother Matt finished with 2/402.

Lachie Wildsen was economical, finishing with 1/18 from five overs while Ben Sommerville with 1/33  and Liam Fitzgerald with one wicket at no cost from two overs were the other successful bowlers.