Uniting Church, Caltowie snare top awards

Finals matches have been played during the last two weeks.

Division 1 Semi-Finals were played between Uniting Church and Caltowie with Uniting Church winning 12 rubbers to 8, thus sending Caltowie to play in the Preliminary Final.

The other Semi-Final was between Belman and Belalie East where Belman won 12 rubbers to 8.

They met Caltowie in the Preliminary Final last Tuesday night and lost to Caltowie by the closest of margins, 11 rubbers to 10.

In Division 2, Semi-Finals were between Uniting Church and Caltowie, where Caltowie won convincingly not letting an “undermanned” U.C. win a rubber.

The other Semi-Final was between Belalie North and Belman.

In a much closer match Belman won 9 rubbers to 7.

Uniting Church and Belman contested the Preliminary Final with Belman winning 13 rubbers to 3.

The Grand Final was played last Friday evening between U.C. and Caltowie in Division 1 and Caltowie and Belman in Division 2.

U.C. won 11 rubbers to 4.

Clive Palmer (UC) needed 5 sets to defeat John Hagger, while Tyson Sparks (UC) also had a tight tussle with Jack Campbell winning in 5.

A close double win to U.C. saw James Moore/Aaron Coe defeat Paul Hagger/Jack Campbell 16/18; 11/9; 10/12; 11/8; 11/4.

The Division 2 Final between Caltowie and Belman saw Caltowie win 9 rubbers to 6.

In the doubles Naomi Connell/Donald Downing (Calt) defeated Ashley McKay/Trevor Schulz 11/8; 8/11; 11/8; 3/11; 11/5, while Tom Campbell/Reanna Schulz (Belman) defeated Adam Black/Jordan Downing 11/8; 11/5; 8/11; 5/11; 11/7.

The two closest singles of the night saw Tom Campbell (Belman) defeat Adam Black 12/10; 11/13; 11/5; 11/6; 11/9, and Tyson Black (Calt) defeat Reanna Schulz 5/11; 9/11; 11/4; 11/8; 11/7.

At the conclusion of play presentations were held.

President Damon Crawford, thanked all who had helped organise club events and functions during the year and then asked Club Patron, Malcolm Harding, to present the Trophies.

Division 1 Best and Fairest was David Klingner with Malcolm Coe runner-up and Division 2 winner was Ashley McKay with Jordan Downing runner-up.

Next, the winning shields were presented to the winning captains.

Clive Palmer accepted the Division 1 “W. L. Palmer Shield” which was first presented in 1935 and the Division 2 “Challenge Shield,” which was first presented in 1946 after W.W.2, was accepted by Donald Downing on behalf of the team and Naomi Connell who was unable to be at the presentations.

Damon then invited everyone to join in and enjoy the tremendous supper that was supplied by members of the Association as well as reminding everyone about the club’s AGM on Thursday, September 14, in the clubrooms and hoped to see all back again next year.

After supper the hall was tidied and made ready for the Lions Sale next week.